Living Information  

Welcome to Tianjin!
Tianjin is one of the four municipalities (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing) directly under the central government of the People's Republic of China. It is placed as China's third largest city, behind Shanghai and Beijing respectively. It is also the biggest industrial and commercial city in North China with an area of 11,919.7 square kilometers (0.118% of the total Chinese territory), and a population of more than 10.43 million (0.787% of the national population in China).
The area of Tianjin began to be inhabited when the Grand Canal was completed in Sui Dynasty (581-618). The name of “Tianjin” firstly came into use in 1404 when the Emperor Yongle of Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) ordered the construction of city walls and the setting up of defenses. Thus was born a city that served as a stronghold for Beijing. The name of “Tianjin” means “the emperor’s ferry”. As the biggest coastal city in northern China, Tianjin has always enjoyed the reputation of being the "Pearl of Bohai Sea."
Tianjin is located in the Northeast of Northern China extending to the lower reaches of the Haihe River. East of Tianjin lies the Bohai Sea and to the north, is the Yan Mountain Range.  Downtown Tianjin is approximately 137 kilometers from Beijing.
Tianjin boasts the most mineral resources (over 30) in China, including coal, platinum, copper, zinc, iron, cement limestone, marble and red ware vitrified clay.
Tianjin has become a well-developed hub with a sea-land-air transportation network. Tianjin Harbor is the largest manual harbor in China having business with over 300 ports of more than 170 countries and regions with 75 berths, among them, 48 deepwater berths with 10 thousand tons. Tianjin Binhai International Airport is not only for passenger planes but also is the largest airfreight center in North China with dozens of international and national airlines.
Tianjin is now divided into 18 Districts and counties; including six city center Districts: Heping, Hexi, Hebei, Hedong, Nankai and Hongqiao; four town Districts: Dongli, Xiqing, Jinnan and Beichen; three seashore Districts: Tanggu, Hangu and Dagang; and five counties: Wuqing, Ji, Ninghe, Baodi and Jinghai.
This Expat Yellow Pages (the seventh edition since 2000) edited by E-SMART Relocation Consultants Co., Ltd. tries and gives information about what is what and what is where in and around Tianjin, TEDA and Beijing, especially the information closely related to the expats’ daily life. I hope this guidebook can help to make your expatriating life in your new, temporary home a bit easier and more enjoyable!
However, this book is far too small to cover all the useful information in the cities of Tianjin and Beijing. Besides, the fate of all guides is to become increasingly dated, and this one will be no exception. Despite our considerable efforts to insure accuracy, change is the only constant in the cities. There are always numerous old and new establishments waiting for the people’s adventure and discovery.
Any inquiry related to this guidebook, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Any comment, suggestion and contribution of updated information to this Expat Yellow Pages would be highly appreciated, and we’ll incorporate them into our 2007 edition.
Susan Sun
Director, General Manager
E-SMART Relocation Consultants Co., Ltd.